Don’t Poke Me!

31 Dec

One of the most useless features of Facebook is “Poke”. I love Facebook- I use it everyday. However, I have yet to find a valid reason to use the Poke function other than starting a Poke War, which is nothing but a good waste of time. They are as simple as choosing who to Poke, telling Facebook to poke them and then waiting for a Poke back which results in a Poke War. These Poke Wars tend to go on for weeks, sometimes months. Some go on for much longer. For people who are strapped for time, this can seem like a problem. But, most of the time, the Poke is embraced…and you get poked back.

The Dilemma

Poking really isn’t very harmful. It does absolutely no physical harm to anyone…unless they’re poking someone and they happen to trip and fall into a storm drain of some sorts. No, I’m not bruised from any of my Poke Wars and neither are you. All I’ve done is waste time…something I tend to do a lot. But, let’s face it- we have to have some fun in our lives…otherwise we’d be pretty boring and have nothing to look forward to.

Now, I’m not saying I sit around all day at my computer waiting for Facebook to tell me I have a new Poke. I’m not walking around the grocery store waiting for that text telling me that “You’ve been poked.” However, I do tend to check Facebook an awful lot and one of the things I do check is who poked me because I take Poke Wars extremely seriously. I have yet to lose a Poke War. I figure, if I’m going to be on Facebook, I might utilize all it has to offer…and one of those things is the useless Poke feature.

Poking actually was not invented by Facebook…like some people may be led to believe. I remember the Pillsbury Dough Boy being poked…and poked…and poked. One thing to remember, though, is that we are not the Pillsbury Dough Boy. We don’t go

“Woo hoo!”

The next time you poke someone, just remember, you could be dedicating a lot of time to a Poke War. So, if you’re up to the challenge, I think you should bring it!

3 Responses to “Don’t Poke Me!”

  1. aka_mara December 31, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Hahahaha that’s hilarious! 🙂

  2. Rachel December 31, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    you will lose your poke war with me.

Leave a Reply

