College Stress- in High School

30 Dec

It’s Winter Break and I have done absolutely no homework, which is great. I guess I should thank my teachers for that when I get back to school on January 3rd. Yet, even with no homework to be done, I’ve found myself doing nothing but searching about college all the time. When I get back in school and have to write that inevitable paper explaning what I did over my break, I’m gonna be the one writing all about the college research that I completed.

The Dilemma

Yes, it’s Winter Break. Yes, I have no homework. Yes, there is snow on the ground. Sounds like the perfect time to kick back, grab some coffee and watch TV next to a warm fireplace. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to do that. I’ve spent a good majority of my time online researching college. I recently found out about a financial aid form that is more extensive than FAFSA and is accepted at very prestigious universities in the United States.

Before I found out about this, I was looking at more in-state colleges that were good, but they were not the best. Through College Board’s Profile, I should be able to go to better universities for a more affordable cost. This is where a lot of my research has come into play. I tend to be a pretty OCD person about a lot of things. I also like to have all the information possible about every little thing. Because of this, I’ve been looking at the colleges that are good at what I want to go into (some sort of business) and have been comparing them individually.

While this may not be the most exciting thing to do over break, it’s what I’ve found myself doing time and time again. Perhaps one of these days I’ll find that perfect college to attend…or maybe I already have.

4 Responses to “College Stress- in High School”

  1. Kevin December 30, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    If you want some excellent reading material about the college admissions process that’ll make you feel better about the whole thing, check out “The Overachievers” by Alexandra Robbins. I just read it, and it’s fantastic. Good luck!

    • dailydilemmas123 December 30, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      Hey Kevin! Thanks for the suggestion-I’ll definitely check it out!

  2. gregeron December 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Don’t stress about it. I only applied to one college, got accepted and that was that. What you want to do for the rest of your life doesn’t really come into play until…like your second semester of sophomore year, when you should have a few things in mind. Pick a certain school for a good reason, don’t just follow your buddies to wherever they may be going. Choose a school that you will enjoy and there will be no regrets.

    Transferring is always available. I know that’s I’ll be doing soon. The most annoying part of the pre-college journey is getting all the scholarship stuff in order and making sure your federal aid money is all ready to go (because there’s like a million different things you have to sign and junk). Good luck, I’m sure you’ll do well. Just have fun during your senior year! (sorry for the unsolicited advice)

    • dailydilemmas123 December 30, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      Thanks for the advice! It’s always welcome! I figure I’m not the first to go through any of this anyways.

      I plan on going to a school I like (like you said). Sure, it might be a bonus to go where my friends are, yet at the same time I need to do it for me…not for them.

Leave a Reply

